Calculate Event

Discussion regarding the spreadsheet functionality of Bet Angel.
Frogmella

I'm new to Excel prgramming although familiar with VB.

To run my code on a data changein the spreadsheet I am using the "Calculate" event. Is that the right way? Are there any other/better ways to monitor the arrival of new data?

Thanks in advance.
spreadbetting

Depends on what you're doing really, if it's all VBA you'd probably want to use Worksheet_Change as they'd be no calculations kicking off your events.

In simple terms a calculate event would fire because of a calculation taking place when the data refreshed i.e =A1+B1 if no calculations occured on the sheet as everything was handled by VBA you'd probably want to use change and that'd fire when upon a refresh. The main thing with your coding is to avoid allowing the code to go into endless loops with each calculation or change re-triggering everything. I use Worksheet_Change in my bots as each refresh sends a set amunt of columns so it's easier to limit your code to fire off only once per refresh.

Here's a page with a much better explanation than I could give on events http://www.cpearson.com/excel/Events.aspx
Last edited by spreadbetting on Wed Jul 05, 2017 4:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.
foxwood

Frogmella wrote:
Wed Jul 05, 2017 3:33 pm
I'm new to Excel prgramming although familiar with VB.

To run my code on a data changein the spreadsheet I am using the "Calculate" event. Is that the right way? Are there any other/better ways to monitor the arrival of new data?

Thanks in advance.
Have a look at Worksheet_Change event - lots in Google including http://www.ozgrid.com/VBA/run-macros-change.htm

Put the sub in the code for the "Bet Angel" page and drive things from that - beware changing the sheet itself otherwise you trigger the event again and get lost in a race condition !

There used to be some sample BA downloads for Excel in the appropriate forum section which also give some useful ideas.
ShaunWhite