Car insurance ripoff!

Relax and chat about anything not covered elsewhere.
Iron

I received a letter from Lloyds TSB today telling me that it will cost me £460 if I want to renew my car insurance with them.

I considered this a bit pricey, given that:

A. I'm 35 years old.

B. I've been driving for over 12 years and have 7 years' no claims discount

C. I only have one driving conviction (3 points for speeding in 2007).

D. I drive a 1.3 litre R reg Ford Fiesta

E. I do about 2,000 miles a year

So I went on Go Compare, hoping that they might be able to make me a better offer. But the best the big moustached tenor could offer me was a quote for £468!

I was paying less in my twenties! Have car insurance prices rocketed in the past year or something?!?

Jeff
jimrobo

Yeh I've noticed mine has shot up in the last 2 years.
LeTiss

Mine shot up this year too

I'm 40, no convictions, never claimed or had an accident

I've got a 2003 Astra & my premiums went from £325 to £406 with Halifax in July!

I was pissed off, but couldn't find anything much cheaper from Meerkats or Pavarotti
Zapata

I always use Moneysupermarket and they get great deals. The guy with the tash was expensive in comparison when I tried him once.
PeterLe

It's crazy isnt it?
I was looking for something for my son (20) ...he had enough for the car (Fiesta about £2500)...but the insurance was over £3K !!!
I told him he could borrow my bike in the end!
Probably due to all the whiplash claims!
andyfuller

Haven't had a car for a while, my daily commute is about 10 seconds from Bed to PC :lol:

But my brother did his recently and got £70 cash back via Quidco which made his policy not too expensive, there are various cashback sites so might be worth a look. Quite a few seem to offer £50 cash back.

If they can afford to give you cash back though - why do they not bother and just make the sodding premiums cheaper for everyone!