Getting Out of a trade

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
Smeetz

Hello, I am new to Bet Angel and trading on Betfair. I am doing OK with my trading in practice mode but I can't get my head round one thing, If I lay a bet and it goes immediately against me, what is the quickest and easiest way to get out of the trade to cut loses. The same goes for backing. On occasion's when this has happened I am like a rabbit in the headlights. Sorry if it sound a stupid question.

Thank You
Derek27

Hi Smeetz, welcome to the forum.

The easiest and quickest way to close trade is to simply click the green-up button or the green-up column on the ladder one tick worse that current trading price in case the market moves.

However, when a move goes against you, whether you should get out immediately to cut your losses or give it more time and risk losing more, depends on a number of factors.

Perhaps most important is the size of your trade. If you have a large bet relative to your usual staking, with the intention of making a few ticks profit, you have to get out quickly or the potential losses could be massive and wipe out all your profits for a day or more.

If it's a smaller bet with the aim of getting a longer swing, your losses are smaller so you have more leeway to wait to see if the market moves in your favour. You also have time to evaluate what's going on in the rest of the market (i.e. other steamers or drifters) to consider the likelihood of the market moving in your favour.

If you often find that you're looking at big liabilities and keep having to close trade for a loss before they get too big (we've all been there), you're probably over staking.

Hope this helps and good luck,

Derek
ShaunWhite

It's not stupid, it's quite normal.