Basic First Trades

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
fullchat

Firstly Hi to everyone complete Newbie here- so forgive if this post is in the wrong place and for any stupid questions ............so here goes!! I have been trading a few weeks, basically scalping and generally getting the feel for things, however am I on the right track, Only using a £2 stake at the moment an my returns are understandably low.when I make a mistake £2 is wiped off and its a hard slog to get it back. Is this me as a newbie or is this generally what happens. I only ask as I have enjoyed things so far but as i get somewhere ( yesterday placed about 25 trades built up £3-4 profit and then £2 goes on a mistake or wrong judgement) Is the £3-4 profit good on £2 stakes considering most returns are between 15-30p ? Any help/ideas/criticism great fully received,

Thanks

Full Chat
Derek27

Hi Full Chat, welcome to the forum.

It is fairly typical for new traders to experience what you describe. I spent my first year or more breaking even or making small profits. I only really became profitable after learning to cut my losses when a trade goes against me and avoid opening the disastrous trades that were responsible for my losses.

Scalping can be like backing long odds-on horses, you win most of the time but the loser wipes out your profits. Scalping works well in strong, stable markets that have a fair amount of liquidity and the prices don't change much, but it can be disastrous in the lower-grade, more volatile markets.

Have you thought about swing trading? While you're on £2 stakes it's a good time to experiment.
fullchat

Hi Derek27,
Thanks for your words I get what you mean about 1 loser wipes you out. Sorry for my ignorance but not sure what swing trading is, could you explain?

Thanks fullchat
ShaunWhite