Exchanges - Spread

A place to discuss anything.
Teleman85

Hi. Sorry about this, but I'm a relative newbie and have a stupid question that is really bugging me. Why is it that the lay odds and back odds must never be the same, that the lay odds are generally slightly higher and that the lay market has an overround under 100% while the back market has an overround over 100%? I understand that, hypothetically, if I offer to lay a horse for £10 at say 3.5, what I am doing is laying a backer's bet and I'm liable for the backer's £25 payout should the horse win. However, that being the case, I would expect the backer to be able to back at 3.5 in order to have a chance of winning my £25, but of course because of the 'spread' it's only available to back at 3.3 or 3.4 in which case surely the backer can only win 23 or 24 of my £25? Therefore, why the discrepancy and where does the difference go? Apologies, I know I'm dumb and haven't fundamentally grasped how these markets work but I can't find a simple explanation anywhere! Any help and explaining like I'm a 5 year old is much appreciated!
ShaunWhite

In your example of laying at 3.5, the person you're matching with has offered to back at 3.5. The whole of the £25 transfers from one to the other. You're selling at the same price they are buying (or visa versa).

Betfair doesn't have a middleman, if you back then someone else is laying your bet and visa versa. How much the spread affect you will depend on if you're taking or offering prices. Buy and sell by taking prices and you lose a tick, but if you offer both sides then you gain a tick.
Teleman85