Value betting using betfair

The sport of kings.
Jblakes

Good evening,

I'm new to value betting and just trying to learn how to do it before I look at joining rebel betting etc.

From what I gather is if you gets odds higher than the lay side on betfair you are taking value?

Is that is the case, then if you don't beat the sp, then have you taken value?

Or am I totally odd base with it?

Kind regards
James
TipTopTrader

Your goal is to beat the starting price. Unless you want to trade. So you back at 5 dollars starts 4 dollars you have a nice value bet. Or if you lay at 4 dollars and starts 5 dollars or above the price you took.

But if you take 5 dollars prices goes down to 4 dollars and returns to 5 dollars at SP or even goes higher , you haven't found a value bet.

You have to also factor in commission, because its on winnings. I'm from Australia so 7% commission 1000 win bet at 5 dollars = 4000 profit x 7% = 280 dollars in commission . So I would have to be beating the SP be at least 7%.

Goodluck with your value betting journey.
Jblakes

Thank you for the information.

My million dollar question is how do you beat the sp?.

I am of the understanding when you use software to find value bets, they are value at the moment in time. So like using betfair (which is the method I've been using). These are value bets at that time.

Is that how you do it? Or is it all about beating the sp for a value bet?

Kind regards
James
sionascaig

Jblakes wrote:
Sat Jan 06, 2024 8:42 am

Or is it all about beating the sp for a value bet?
SP is just an indicator. For any given race, you can't really tell if you got value if end position is close to SP as maybe the market just got it wrong, e.g. too much money chasing one particular horse on that race - its only in the round over 1000's of races that will tell you that.

There are several discussion on here re BSP and why some folk don't use that as a measure, e.g maybe LTP (last traded price) before a race starts is better?