A strategy I found

A place to discuss anything.
beginnertrader

When I started this journey I had 2 goals in mind:
  • it must be built for automation.
  • it must be built for scale.
Go big or go home.

As an experienced developer i've build a backend and reporting system that allows me to track everything from bankroll management, through realtime analysis.

I started my journey with prediction football scores, and then I realized that on an exchange, it is better to focus on human behavior and look for the movements of odds.

I applied a lay to back methodology on greyhound racing trying to catch odds raising movement of x% profit, and hope for the best if I didn't find the right match.
It surprisingly worked pretty well, and i'm running this for 8 days now, and I used some deep analysis to build strategies (for example, determine the minimum odd I will get in to a bet).

So few thoughts:
  • How can I know that I found an edge? How many bets with a nice edge graph will prove the point and will make me feel more comfortable to increase stake value?
  • the importance of bankroll management: the real cost of fees when you are running a long term strategy that both wins and loses (but better on the win size) - is just not spoken enough! You can have a "profitable" strategy with negative net. profit! That's crazy and counterintuitive, but crucial for success management!
Crazyskier

beginnertrader wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2024 10:58 am
hope for the best if I didn't find the right match.
That right there would be gambling and not really a 'strategy'. You're confusing apples and pears. Perhaps try taking SP on all bets to green / red up and then look again.

CS
jamesedwards

You really need thousands, perhaps 10s of thousands of results to be confident of an edge.

Don't underestimate the impact of stake on profitability, especially on greyhounds. Increase stakes very slowly and monitor closely.
Fugazi

jamesedwards wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2024 2:07 pm