The Signal and the Noise (completed book review)

A place to discuss anything.
gazuty

Now finished reading Nate Silver's (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nate_Silver) book, "The Signal and the Noise, Why so many predictions fail but some don't".

The book is well worth the read IMHO and there are a few chapters and observations that should be particularly educating and interesting those making money and those attempting to make money from betfair. Even though I studied applied maths at Uni (but never used it in my day job) I don't think you need any advanced maths education to read or enjoy this book. If you are making money on betfair, you've no doubt got all the maths knowledge you need.

To whet the appetite, midway through the book there are a few chapters devoted to sports betting and poker. In fact, Nate writes that he was making up to US$400,000 per year playing poker online. But, when the market changed and there were fewer fish (suckers/newbies) losing money he turned from an on average winner per hundred hands, to an on average loser per hundred hands. Nate explains the lessons he learned from watching the online poker market change. (He realised he had lost his edge and moved on.)

The book focuses on Bayes' theorem. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bayes'_theorem

Through various examples, be it baseball, sports betting, political forecasting, poker, the stock market, terrorism, climate change - the author uses Bayes' theorem to calculate probability and analyse prediction problems.

I did find myself skim reading a few of the later chapters and I concentrated most of my attention on those chapters I considered having direct benefit to betfair strategies.